Using QuantEcon lectures in Julia

Dear all,

I am new to computational economics, and am deciding between using Python and Julia.

I tried to use some code from the lectures in Julia 1.6.1 but the Kernel keeps failing. It says that it has ‘Failed to start kernel’ and has an ‘unhandled error’. Here are the details:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/Users/rdmorgan/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/tornado/web.py”, line 1704, in _execute
result = await result
File “/Users/rdmorgan/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/tornado/gen.py”, line 769, in run
yielded = self.gen.throw(*exc_info) # type: ignore
File “/Users/rdmorgan/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/notebook/services/sessions/handlers.py”, line 69, in post
model = yield maybe_future(
File “/Users/rdmorgan/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/tornado/gen.py”, line 762, in run
value = future.result()
File “/Users/rdmorgan/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/tornado/gen.py”, line 769, in run
File “/Users/rdmorgan/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/notebook/services/sessions/sessionmanager.py”, line 98, in create_session
kernel_id = yield self.start_kernel_for_session(session_id, path, name, type, kernel_name)
File “/Users/rdmorgan/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/tornado/gen.py”, line 762, in run
value = future.result()
File “/Users/rdmorgan/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/notebook/services/sessions/sessionmanager.py”, line 110, in start_kernel_for_session
kernel_id = yield maybe_future(
value = future.result()
File “/Users/rdmorgan/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/notebook/services/kernels/kernelmanager.py”, line 176, in start_kernel
kernel_id = await maybe_future(self.pinned_superclass.start_kernel(self, **kwargs))
File “/Users/rdmorgan/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.8/site-packages/jupyter_client/multikernelmanager.py”, line 186, in start_kernel
km.start_kernel(**kwargs)