Newton-Raphson Root-Finding Algorithim Question

Hi all,

Beginner here to Python programming for economic research. I have just encountered a problem with the newton-raphson function that I wanted to clarify.

For background, I am coding up a CES Function of the form f(x,y) = (x^rho + y^rho)^(1/rho). I want to find the roots of a new function: it’s derivative minus a fixed constant. Using the newton-raphson function in the quantecon package, the trouble I am facing is a “failure to converge”, using most values of rho (the ones I’ve tried) that is not equal to 3. In fact, 3 should not be used at all (as the rho parameter in a Ces function has to be less than 1, and not equal to 0). Nevertheless, it is the only value that works in my code.

I am not sure if this is a problem in the starting value I am selecting, or due to an error in my code. If it is the latter, any suggestions to fix it would be much appreciated. If it is the former, I am an undergrad so please excuse my lack of knowledge of maths, any help on that would also be appreciated. Thanks very much everyone!

Setup Code:

##Load Libraries##
from numba import jit
import numpy as np 

####################QuantEcon Methods#######################
from quantecon.optimize.root_finding import newton, newton_halley, newton_secant\
, bisect, brentq

##Coded Up Functions (Jitted)##

@jit 
def ces(x,y,rho):
    U = (x**rho + y**rho)**(1/rho)
    return U # original CES Function

@jit
def ces_d(x,y,rho):
    U_x = (x**(rho-1)) * ((x**rho + y**rho)**((1-rho)/rho)) 
    return U_x # CES Derivative

@jit
def ces_dd(x,y,rho,ud):
    U_xd = (x**(rho-1)) * ((x**rho + y**rho)**((1-rho)/rho)) - ud
    return U_xd # New Function: CES Derivative - ud

@jit
def ces_d2(x,y,rho,z):
    U_xx = (rho-1) * (x**(rho-2)) *(y**rho) * ((x**rho + y**rho)**(1/rho-2))  - z  
    return U_xx # New Function Derivative - z #the z is just a placeholder variable, to make it work with ces_inv, should not affect it?

@jit
def ces_d3(x,y,rho,z):