Dolo.jl in JuliaBox

Hi everyone,

I am a first year undergrad with little to no programming experience so I apologise for asking such naive questions. Yesterday I discovered Dolo.jl and I very much want to play around with it. However, I am having some difficulties setting it up. What I have done so far:

Since I am using JuliaBox I added Dolo using the package builder and after a while the bar turned green. I then found an example model here. But when I try to run the code I get the error

syntax: line break in “:” expression

Stacktrace:
[1] include_string(::String, ::String) at ./loading.jl:522

I started with using Dolo and then pasted one of the example codes.

I am quite embarrassed to be asking this question seeing as this forum consists of highly advanced economists but hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

Hi @Gensys,

No worries. The purpose of the forum is exactly to help answer questions like this!

Two comments:

• I tried to use Dolo.jl on juliabox the other day and it didn’t work for me. I have been able to get it to work on an old version of JuliaBox now running at https://v1.juliabox.com
  • If you post the code you tried to run we would be better able to help. include_string is what IJulia uses to run any code, so you would see that as the first entry of any stacktrace in a jupyter notebook.

Thanks for the reply and the encouraging words @spencer.lyon :slight_smile:

Here is the code I ran:

using Dolo
using PlotlyJS
using AxisArrays

symbols:
states: [k, tau_c, tau_k]
controls: [c]
exogenous: [g, exog_tau_c, exog_tau_k]
parameters: [beta, gamma, delta, alpha, A]

definitions:
# Equations from 11.6.8
eta: alpha*A*k^(alpha-1)
w: A*k^alpha - k*eta
Rb: (1+tau_c)/(1+tau_c(1))*((1-tau_k(1)) * (alpha*A*k(1)^(alpha-1) - delta) + 1.)

equations:

arbitrage:
    # Equation 11.6.3
    - 1 = beta*(c(+1)/c)^(-gamma)*(1+tau_c)/(1+tau_c(1))*((1-tau_k(1))*(eta(1)-delta) + 1) | 0 <= c <= inf

transition:
    # Equation 11.6.1